Confessions of a Bad Blogger

Yes, I have been a very, very bad blogger.  Posting has been way too light of late, and I have no excuses, really.  It’s not like there haven’t been things to blog about:  there’s New Jersey Governor Chris Christie’s short-sighted and craven pandering to the tea party ethos, ably skewered here by Bob Herbert; the growing foreclosure disaster, as documented by Rortybomb here and David Dayen here, and for which the Obama administration has had both the opportunity and the tools to do something about for some time but which they have chosen instead to ignore (or make worse);  there’s this interesting little article about real-estate magnate and major-league asshole Sam Zell, and the morally-bankrupt people he put in charge of the Tribune; in Rolling Stone, the Obama profile and Matt Taibbi’s Tea Party takedown (neither of which I’ve finished reading yet).

So, no lack of material; just a lack of motivation.  The job search is starting to wear on me – even when I have a particularly good interview, with a company that seems like a great fit, I get no callbacks.  The political situation, with more and more Democrats – even good ones – seemingly on the verge of defeat in November, has turned seriously depressing.  I alternate between despair at the coming Republican takeover, and glee at the thought of Armageddon being loosed on this once-proud country, maybe bringing an end to the two-party system, or the Senate as we know it, or perhaps finally getting enough people off their lazy asses to make their voices heard.  And the MLB playoffs are upon us, with my San Francisco Giants (motto:  “Giants Baseball – It’s Torture”) maybe, possibly getting themselves into the World Series again.

It hasn’t all been bad, though.  In the past couple of weeks, I got to see some amazing music at the Hardly Strictly Bluegrass festival in San Francisco; molly started her master’s program, which she’s totally jazzed about; my son turned 19; and what we lack in financial resources here at the commie atheist compound we more than make up for in love, honest engagement, and downright fun with each other.  All of it, however, has made me more interested in hanging out with my family and friends than in posting on my shitty little blog.

It’s time to turn over a new rock, make like a mitochondria and bifurcate, thrust a fist into the red dawn of a broken and bleeding America.  In short, time to get my ass in gear.  DON”T STOP BELIEVING!

 

This entry was posted in I Blog, Therefore I Am. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Confessions of a Bad Blogger

  1. StringonaStick says:

    Family is always first; the time you have now with Molly and your son is more important than writing for us out here; we’re patient, we’ll wait!

    • Hey, I appreciate that. But this really is therapy for me, so I feel like I’m shortchanging myself when I don’t post for long stretches. I’m starting to get the fever back, though…

  2. Sharon Brown says:

    The Tea Party article really spoke to me.We seem to be living in a world of contradictions; whatever point you start out to make becomes it’s own opposite by the time you’re finished, as if you’re actually trying to make a case for the opposition.
    This is particularly apparent in the BHO administration’s comments/POV. If they aren’t all Republicans then I don’t know who is.
    I’m glad you feel a need to post, and I’m sympathetic about the jobhunt. Moi aussi.

    • It’s pretty bad out there. I’ve been networking a lot lately, and I’m amazed at how many highly experienced, intelligent, articulate people there are looking for work. I’m convinced that companies are simply holding back from hiring, even when they have a clear need, because they don’t think the recession is anywhere near over, and this administration’s policies aren’t helping at all. They all need to have “IT’S THE ECONOMY, YOU FUCKING DUMBSHIT” tattooed across their foreheads.

Leave a Reply

